Connect with us

Press Releases

Recommendations needed for Constitutional Reform

Citizens urged to submit recommendations to the NACCR for constitutional reform

The National Advisory Committee on Constitutional Reform (NACCR) invites individual and corporate citizens to submit their recommendations for Constitutional Reform.

Over the past few weeks, the eight-member Committee has focused on developing strategies to encourage citizens locally and throughout the diaspora to send their recommendations on reforming the Constitution. Chaired by Mr Barendra Sinanan, the Advisory Committee comprises Dr Terrence Farrell, Mr Nizam Mohammed, Mrs Helen Drayton, Ms Hema Narinesingh, Mr Winston Rudder, Ms Jacqueline Sampson-Miguel, and Mr Raye Sandy.

“Our Constitution is the cornerstone of the nation’s commitment to upholding fundamental human rights, ensuring social justice, public accountability, and creating a strong and inclusive democratic framework to guide its future development in the interest of the welfare, prosperity, and happiness of citizens. The Committee intends to promote a citizen-centred approach to reform and will be implementing a campaign to illustrate the importance of the Constitution to each of us while reaching out to all citizens through traditional and social media announcements, and public consultations,” the Chairman said.

It will engage with a broad cross-section of individual and corporate citizens, including political parties, NGOs, the corporate sector, religious bodies, trade unions, educators, and students. The Committee will launch a website where citizens can download the Constitution and review helpful information, including the proposals of previous commissions and committees. In the meantime, the Committee invites interested persons to visit the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago website under the Constitution section.

Recommendations will be synthesised and compiled into a working document for a national Constitution Conference in June 2024.

The Committee invites citizens to submit their recommendations via email: or send them to the attention of the Secretary of the National Advisory Committee on Constitutional Reform, Level 21, Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, 1A Wrightson Road, Port of Spain.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *